Board of Directors

Our Board includes local government representatives to ensure the needs of Members and the challenges they face are represented, understood, and addressed. It also includes Directors with broader insurance industry expertise to bring balance and an external perspective on the industry we operate in.

Board of Directors

Linda Bostock


Linda, who has been with StateCover since 2010, is the Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director.  She was appointed to the Board in 2011.  Linda’s experience includes over 28 years in the insurance industry in a range of director, executive and operational management roles, specialising in workers compensation and work health and safety.  Prior to joining StateCover, Linda was the national claims and underwriting manager, across the privately underwritten jurisdictions, for one of the world’s largest general insurers.  Linda is a Director of the Business Council of Cooperatives and Mutuals and is also a Director of another industry insurer.

Jann Gardner


Jann joined the StateCover Board in 2012 as an Industry Director, and is Chair of the Audit Committee and a member of the Investment and Nominations & Remuneration Committees.  Jann spent 27 years as a legal practitioner in the insurance industry, with 15 of those years as partner in a national insurance law firm.  She currently sits on the Boards of several other APRA-regulated entities.

Jerome Laxale


Jerome is an LGNSW Councillor Director who joined the StateCover Board in September 2018.  He is Chair of the Risk Committee and a member of the Audit Committee and the Nominations & Remuneration Committee.  Jerome has been a councillor at City of Ryde, a large metropolitan council, since 2012 and is currently also the mayor.  He has previously served as Vice President of the Northern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils and currently sits on the Advisory Board of Venture Café Sydney.  In 2019, he was appointed as a Director and Treasurer of LGNSW.

Norman Newbon


Norman joined the StateCover Board in 2003 as an Industry Director. He has over 30 years’ Board experience, both as Director and Chair, including at ASX level. He also has over 20 years’ experience in Executive and Non-Executive Director roles in workers compensation. Norman is Chair of the Investment Committee and a member of the Risk Committee. He is also Chair of Eric Insurance Ltd.

Sam Ngai


Sam joined the StateCover Board in November 2019 as an LGNSW Councillor Director, having been elected onto Ku-ring-gai Council in September 2017. Prior to joining StateCover, he was Vice President of the Northern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils and a member of the Sydney North Planning Panel. Sam’s 14 years’ corporate experience includes 10 years at a national energy retailer in reporting and analytics roles. Sam is a member of StateCover’s Audit and Investment Committees.

Craig Wrightson


Craig is a Council Member Director who joined the Board in November 2017. He has over 25 years’ experience in local government. Craig has been General Manager of Lane Cove, a metropolitan council, for 7 years and has experience on the boards of local government insurance pool companies.  Craig is a member of the Investment, Nominations & Remuneration and Risk Committees.

Andrew Crakanthorp

JP, B Bus (Local Govt), Grad Dip Public Policy and Mgt, GAICD

Andrew joined the StateCover Board in November 2020, and is a member of the Risk Committee. Andrew is the General Manager of Riverina Water County Council, having begun his long history in local government in 1983. He is a JP, and a past Board member of LG Professionals NSW.

Added to your favourites

Password requirements

Passwords must contain:
  • no more than 2 identical characters in a row
  • at least one special character e.g. !@#$%^&*
  • at least one upper case (A-Z), lower case (a-z) and numerical character (0-9):